top of page
Search

The Love of My Life

How to describe Marilane? It's a question I've asked myself over the past few days and a question that has intimidated me because I want just the right words to paint a picture of who she was and so this tribute is something I've wrestled with for the last couple days. So here's my feeble attempt.

The first thing I loved and respected about Marilane was her faith. She was a woman who thought deeply about God and wanted to know Him in a very real way. She was never satisfied with "Sunday School" answers or Christian cliches but wanted to know what God was like and what Scripture actually meant. There were many times at night that I would wake up and find her with her Bible and/or theological books open with a journal writing down notes of what she was learning. Those journals are now precious keepsakes. She made me want to know God more intimately like she did and I will forever be grateful to her for that. She has made God so real to me and so many people.

She was/is an amazing wife and great companion. She made me a better person. She taught me how to work hard, pay attention to detail, and not to be afraid to ask difficult questions. She was such a fun person and knew how to make me laugh. I will miss her wit and sense of humor.  Over that last few years we began to play golf together and be more intentional about going on trips just the two of us. I will forever cherish those memories.


Marilane was/is a terrific mom. She always wanted what was best for our kids and would go to great lengths to ensure that they were taken care of. They adore her and she always was taking pictures and videos of them because of the joy they brought to her. They were her whole world and she showed Jesus to them.

Marilane loved not only God, me and our kids, but she loved people especially those who are marginalized in society. She always had a burden for kids in foster care and in need of adoption and was generous with her time to help organizations that cared for them. One ministry that she gave to for years and still does is Compassion International because she wanted to know that girls and boys in this world were cared for and knew Jesus. She always had a great sense of what was right and wrong. Injustices in the world burdened her a great deal because she saw people through the eyes of Jesus.

Marilane, I love you and miss you. Thank you for being my rock and my best friend. I can't wait to see you again.


Your boy,

Adam





8,667 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page